Are you a Texas resident looking for a better auto insurance rate, but you aren’t sure where to start? The average car insurance rate in Texas is around $1900 a year, but there are places where you can find better rates.
If you are in the market for insurance but aren’t sure about Texas car insurance laws and what policy you need, keep reading below. In this article, we will go over Texas auto insurance laws and where you can go to get a great rate today.
Is Auto Insurance Required?
Yes, in the state of Texas, you are required to carry car insurance on your vehicle. Texas car insurance laws require drivers to show proof that they carry liability insurance on their cars. If you own a vehicle that has a lienholder assigned, you have to carry collision and comprehensive coverage in addition to liability insurance coverage.
Regardless of who is at fault for the accident, you can utilize your collision coverage to take care of your vehicle’s damages. Collision coverage carries a deductible that you will pick when you are setting up your policy.
On average, texas policyholders have a deductible of $500 on their vehicles. Make sure you speak with your agent about your deductible options.
Comprehensive coverage covers you if your vehicle is stolen or damaged by a natural disaster. This coverage also helps pay for your vehicle’s damages if you hit an animal.
Liability insurance coverage covers the damages done to others if you are liable for the accident. There are two types of liability insurance that you will carry on your policy: property damage coverage and bodily injury coverage.
Property Damage Coverage
If you are at fault for your auto accident, your property damage liability coverage will pay for the other party’s vehicle damages. In Texas, you are required to carry the state minimum of $25,000 of property damage coverage.
Bodily Injury Coverage
If you are at fault for the auto accident and there are injures, your bodily injury coverage will take care of those injuries. Bodily injury coverage pays for any medical bills or other medical expenses caused by the accident. In Texas, you must carry the state minimum of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per incident.
What Is an SR22?
If you receive a DUI conviction, receive a conviction for driving without insurance, or commit serious driving violations, you may have to have an SR22 attached to your policy. An SR22 is a certificate that shows the court that you will carry the state minimum coverage over your vehicle.
Texas auto insurance policies with SR22 certificates tend to be more expensive than an average insurance policy. If you need to have an SR22, you should shop around and get Texas car insurance quotes to get the best rate possible.
Understanding Texas Car Insurance Laws
Texas car insurance laws aren’t as complicated as they sound, and it is crucial that you follow these laws to avoid receiving any violations. Purchasing car insurance does not have to be complex or expensive, and we created a way for you to get the best rate possible.
We here at Insured ASAP are very knowledgeable about the auto insurance you need to carry in Texas. Contact us today to receive a free quote and get your policy the same day!